Latest News

Seven SCC Members Received Letter Of Appointment

PUTRAJAYA, 26 July – The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) is a government institution monitored by five independent bodies to create a country free of corruption, said the MACC Chief Commissioner, Datuk Seri Azam Baki.

According to him, in line with the establishment of the MACC in 2009, five external oversight  bodies were formed as a  check and balance mechanism with the  aim to advise, monitor, and ensure the functions and responsibilities of the MACC can be carried out efficiently, independently, transparently and professionally.

“The establishment of the five external oversight  bodies including the Special Committee on Corruption (SCC), Anti-Corruption Advisory Board (ACAB) and the Complaints Committee (CC) are all formed by  the provisions of law. Meanwhile, the establishment of the Operations Review Panel (ORP) and the Consultation and Corruption Prevention Panel (CCPP) are made administively.

“Hopefully the appointment of the SCC members can help meet society’s expectations on the independence, efficiency, effectiveness, transparency, and accountability of this commission to fulfill its functions,” he said.

He added, the positive perception towards the credibility of the MACC and the government will facilitate efforts to gain community support and cooperation in combating corruption, malpractice and abuse of power.

The appointment letters for the SCC members were presented by the YAB Prime Minister, Tan Sri Dato’ Haji Mahiaddin Hj Md Yasin, witnessed by the MACC Chief Commissioner, Datuk Seri Azam Baki at the Parliament building, Kuala Lumpur, today.

The SCC is responsible to check  the MACC Annual Report and advise the Prime Minister on various aspects regarding corruption issues in the country.

In addition, the SCC is also required to check the Anti-Corruption Advisory Board’s (ACAB) reviews on the functions of this commission based on the MACC Act 2009 as well as obtain clarification on the MACC Annual Report.

Seven SCC members were appointed to the Special Committee on Corruption (SCC) by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong for a period of three years, effective from  15 July 2021 to 14 July 2024.

The members of the Special Committee on Corruption (SCC) are as follows:

1. YB Senator Tan Sri Dato' Seri Utama Dr. Rais Yatim
    The President of the Senate

2. YB Senator Tuan Ir. Md Nasir Hashim
    Member of the Senate

3. YB Senator Puan Hajah Raj Munni Sabu
    Member of the Senate

4. YB Senator Tuan Haji Idris Ahmad
    Member of the Senate

5. YB Senator Tuan Zaiedi Haji Suhaili
    Member of the Senate

6. YB Tuan Hassan Abdul Karim
    Member Of Parliament Pasir Gudang

 7. YB Tuan Wong Hon Wai
     Member Of Parliament  Bukit Bendera

Hits : 449