

PRESS STATEMENT MALAYSIAN ANTICORRUPTION COMMISSION

Address: Strategic Communication Division

Level 18, Block C,

Head Quarters

Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission, No. 2, Lebuh Wawasan, Presint 7,

62250 Putrajaya

Tel. : **03-8870 0015** Fax : **03-8870 0908**

Email : komunikasi@sprm.gov.my
Web : www.sprm.gov.my
Twitter : twitter.com/SPRMMalaysia

Facebook: <u>facebook.com/sprm.benci.rasuah</u> Youtube: <u>www.youtube.com/odvmacc</u>

LATHEEFA KOYA SWORN IN AS 14TH MACC CHIEF COMMISSIONER

Duli Yang Maha Mulia Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong XVI, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustaffa Billah Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Al-Musta'in Billah today graced the ceremony for the swearing-in of Latheefa Koya as the 14th Chief Commissioner of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) here at Istana Negara.

His Majesty had consented to the appointment of Latheefa as the MACC Chief Commissioner last 4 June, 2019, for a two-year term beginning 1st June 2019 until 31st May 2021.

The swearing in ceremony is in line with Section 5 (7) MACC Act 2009 that provides for each appointed Chief Commissioner to be sworn in the presence of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Latheefa, 46, who is widely experienced in law and legislation, obtained her Bachelor's Degree in Law (LL.B) (Honours) from the University of London.

Also in attendance were Minister in the Prime Minister's Department, Datuk Liew Vui Keong; MACC's Deputy Chief Commissioner (Operation), Dato' Seri Azam Baki; Deputy Chief Commissioner (Prevention), Dato' Shamshun Baharin Mohd Jamil; Deputy Chief Commissioner (Management & Professionalism), Dato' Jaafar Mahad and Director of Policy, Planning and Research Division, Dato' Azmi Karim.

MALAYSIAN ANTI-CORRUPTION COMMISSION PUTRAJAYA

25th JUNE 2019